Wednesday, March 23, 2011

Diana Wynne Jones

The fourth in a series of posts about popular children's authors and their books.

Diana Wynne Jones was born in London in August 1934.  Her family moved around a lot, finally settling in rural England. Neglected by their parents, she and her sisters, Isobel and Ursula, lived in a shack away from the main house. They ran wild, washed seldom and grew very close. Diana and her sisters were deprived of a good, steady supply of books by their father, 'who could beat Scrooge in a meanness contest'. So, armed with a vivid imagination and an insatiable quest for good books to read, she decided that she would have to write them herself.  Her first book was published in 1970 and her first children's book Wilkin's Tooth was published in 1973. Since then she has written some 40 science fiction and fantasy books, and is one of Britain's most respected fantasy writers. Diana's most popular books are the Chrestomanci series: Charmed Life, The Magicians of Caprona, The Lives of Christopher Chant, Conrad's Fate, Mixed Magics and Stealer of Souls, which take place in a magical chain of different worlds. Her book Howl's Moving Castle was released as an animated movie in 2004.
Books by Diana Wynne Jones we have in our library: Wilkin's Tooth, Howl's Moving Castle, Castle in the Air, The Power of Three, Stealer of Souls, Conrad's Fate, The Magicians of Caprona, The Game, The Merlin Conspiracy.

Upper Hutt Library currently holds copies of about 20 books written by Diana Wynne Jones, also a copy of the animated DVD of  Howl's Moving Castle.

The above information about Diana Wynne Jones was adapted from here and here, you can also find more information about Diana and her books here.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...