Wednesday, September 26, 2012

The Famous Five

Another in a series of posts about children's classic books available for borrowing from our school library.

The Famous Five is one of several popular series of books written by Enid Blyton. There are 21 original Famous Five books which were written between 1942 and 1963. The books are about the many adventures of four children; Julian, Dick, Anne and Georgina (known as George) and their dog Timmy.

"Armed with maps, torches, packets of sandwiches and a plentiful supply of ginger-beer, Julian, Dick, Anne, their tomboy cousin George (Georgina by rights) and Timmy the dog like nothing better than to spend their holidays hiking and biking, camping and exploring by themselves, invariably falling into adventure."

This year is the 70th Anniversary of the Famous Five books and to help celebrate the publishers, Hodder Children's Books, asked five famous illustrators to design new covers for the first five books in the series.
Image from HERE

Currently we have 2 books from the Famous Five series by Enid Blyton in the Fiction section of our library. Next term look out for the other three 70th Anniversary Edition titles on the New Books display to add to our collection.

Upper Hutt Library currently holds copies of about 20 Famous Five books by Enid Blyton as well as 2 audio books.

The above information about the Famous Five was adapted from here and here.  If you'd like to find out more about Enid Blyton and her books you can find more here.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...