Wednesday, May 25, 2011

The Adventure Series

One in a series of posts about children's classic books available for borrowing from our school library.

The Adventure books are a series of 14 books written by Willard Price between 1948 and 1980. Willard Price was a journalist and naturalist who traveled the world working for National Geographic and other publications. The series tells the Adventures of Hal and Roger Hunt, whose father John Hunt, owns a wildlife park in America.  He is a wildlife specialist who specializes in taking animals alive. His two sons are both years ahead of their classes, so he makes them an offer: stay in school, or take a year out to travel the world and learn the family business. Not surprisingly they choose the second option.  During their year away, the boys travel to Africa with their Safari team; North & South America and the South Seas with Captain Ike and the Lively Lady; the waters of Australasia with Captain Ted and the Flying Cloud, as well as India, the arctic and other exotic places.  Hindered by opponents, ranging from humorous and incompetent to deadly and dangerous, dealing with rare and dangerous animals and learning from the locals, the boys take readers on a thrilling ride across the world.

We have three compendium books, each containing two of the Adventure Series stories, in the fiction section of our library.

Upper Hutt Public Library has the three compendium books as well as three other single titles in the Children's section.

You can find out more about Willard Price and the Adventure Series from: here (most of the above information was adapted from there too). 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...